An estoppel certificate provides an overview of the assessments and fees that a seller may owe to their HOA/condo association to date and is provided by the association when a property is being sold. Prior to these new laws, Florida law allowed associations to charge a “reasonable” fee to prepare an estoppel certificate; without any guidance as to what was a “reasonable” amount.
HB 483/SB 398 cap the fees that can be charged for estoppel certificates at $250 for unit owners who are current in their assessments. An additional $100 can be charged for “expedited” estoppel certificates (delivered within three business days), and another $150 can be charged for owners who are delinquent in their assessments. This is a maximum of $500 for an expedited, delinquent estoppel certificate.
HB 483/SB 398 also require certificates to be valid for 30 days and provide for a standard estoppel certificate form to ensure the same information is provided to owners across Florida.
This will likely put an end to over-inflated estoppel fees changes by associations and law firms alike.